If you are not investing in your business, how do you expect it to grow?
   

Add, Edit, and Remove Users in Google Analytics

 MODIFIED Date: 12/12/2020 |  User Level: Regular User |  Views: 366

Google Analytics Permissions

  • Edit: Can perform administrative and report-related functions (e.g., add/edit/delete accounts, properties, views, filters, goals, Channel Grouping, etc., but not manage users), and see report data.
    Edit permission is required at the account level to create filters. Edit permission is required at the view level to apply filters.
    Includes Collaborate.
  • Collaborate: Can create, edit, delete, and share personal assets. Can collaborate on shared assets. Includes Read & Analyze.
    Shared assets include:
    • Multi-Channel Funnels Settings
    • Conversion Segments
    • Custom reports
    • Dashboards
    • Segments
    • Unsampled Reports
  • Read & Analyze: Can see report and configuration data; can manipulate data within reports (e.g., filter a table, add a secondary dimension, create a segment); can create personal assets, and share them, and see shared assets. Cannot collaborate on shared assets.
  • Manage Users: Can manage account users (add/delete users, assign any permissions). Does not include Edit or Collaborate. Can grant full permissions to any user, including themselves, for any account, property, or view for which they have this permission.

Adding a Google Analytics User

  • Navigate to https://analytics.google.com/ to load Google Analytics.
  • Log in with your Google account. This is any account that is hosted on Googles mail server (e.g., @Gmail.com, or your domain.com if you're using Google to host your email).
  • On the left side, toward the bottom, click on Admin.
  • In the Property section click on Property User Management. Here you will see all users that have access to view your "property" (e.g., website).
  • Click on the + in the top right-hand corner to add a user.
  • Note: This user must be a Google mail user. This can be either an @Gmail.com address or your domain.com email address if it is hosted on Google's mail servers.
  • Enter the users email address.
    • Note: You will not need the password for the user being added.
  • Leave the box checked Notify new users by email so that they know they now have access along with access instructions.
  • Select the appropriate Permissions that you want the user to have.
    • Note: We recommend keeping the Manage Users to the owner of the domain and the person managing the account for the domain owner to best protect the account.
  • Click on Add button to add the new user.

Editing a Google Analytics User

  • Navigate to https://analytics.google.com/ to load Google Analytics.
  • Log in with your Google account. This is any account that is hosted on Googles mail server (e.g., @Gmail.com, or your domain.com if you're using Google to host your email).
  • On the left side, toward the bottom, click on Admin.
  • In the Property section click on Property User Management. Here you will see all users that have access to view your "property" (e.g., website).
  • Click on the person's name to show the security settings they presently have.
  • Check and Uncheck the items that you want the user to have.
  • Click on Save button to save the user changes.

Removing a Google Analytics User

Note: If @BUSINESSNAME@ is no longer managing your account we will remove all but one account. The reason for this is we are unable to remove our final account and this must be done by the site owner.

  • Navigate to https://analytics.google.com/ to load Google Analytics.
  • Log in with your Google account. This is any account that is hosted on Googles mail server (e.g., @Gmail.com, or your domain.com if you're using Google to host your email).
  • On the left side, toward the bottom, click on Admin.
  • In the Property section click on Property User Management. Here you will see all users that have access to view your "property" (e.g., website).
  • Click on the person's name to show the security settings they presently have.
  • Click on Remove button to remove the user from the account.

Google Analytics v4 Information

With the update of Google Analytics to version 4 when you upgrade your account you will often notice two sets of domains for your website. This is normal and not a problem with Google Analytics. One of the accounts is the older version 3 and the other is the newer version 4.

When you migrate to the new version 4 of Google Analytics there is a good chance you will need to update the Google Analytics code.

Latest Google KB Articles

Company Partnerships

Google
Microsoft
Bing
Amazon